Police and crime commissioner elections

Police and Crime Commissioner elections take place in 40 police force areas covering England and Wales (excluding London). Each area has one Police and Crime Commissioner. South Tyneside is part of the Northumbria Police Force area.

The next Police and Crime Commissioner election is due to take place on 2 May 2024. 

To vote in a Police and Crime Commissioner election a person must be registered to vote and be 18 years of age or over on polling day, a British citizen, a qualifying Commonwealth citizen, or a citizen of the European Union, be resident in the UK and not be subject to any legal incapacity to vote.

For more information about Police and Crime Commissioners please see The Association of Police and Crime Commissioners.